1000 Likes! Chocolate Chunk Cookies

Claudio's picture cookies2

Even though it’s only been a day since my last post I decided I would celebrate reaching 1000 likes on my Facebook page by sharing a new recipe with you, in perfect time for Santa’s Arrival! Thank you so much to all my followers, subscribers and Facebook fans who have supported me through this journey with my blog, and a special thank you to my friends, family and helpers who have contributed to making it what it is today (especially Maria Brown for her amazing photos which will be coming soon!). Your support has meant so much, and has given me the strength to keep blogging even when I’ve had a lot of other things on my plate (other than food!).

So to celebrate I came up with this Chocolate Chunk cookie recipe which is quick and easy to make, gluten free, and can easily be made refined-sugar and dairy free to meet the needs of those on Paleo or other diets that don’t allow for these. Personally I made them with regular chocolate, because I was having some baking therapy late at night and couldn’t quite justify waking new flatmates with the sound of almonds being pulverised into almond butter but you can add in chunks of Paleo Chocolate easily too (though they won’t hold their shape as well)! They would go perfectly as a treat for Santa with a nice glass of almond milk, or for general holiday treats.

Also a big thank you to our fabulous new flatmate Claudio for snapping these couple of beauties on his fancy camera while I tried to muddle around taking snaps with my little old iPhone. Aren’t they beautiful?

Gluten Free Chocolate Chunk Cookies

Claudio's picture cookiesPreparation time: 10 minutes Cook time: 10-15minutes

Gluten Free Can be made Paleo/ Vegan/ Dairy & Refined Sugar Free

 

Ingredients:

2.5 cups almond flour

1.5 cups tapioca flour

1/2 teaspoon salt (I use pink himalayan salt)

3/4 cup coconut oil, melted

1/2 teaspoon vanilla extract

5 tablespoons maple syrup

100g fair trade chocolate (I used Green & Black’s Organic Milk Chocolate but use this recipe to make Vegan/Paleo/Dairy & Refined-Sugar Free chocolate of your own)

 

Method:

1. Preheat oven to 180C.

2. Add all dry ingredients (excluding Chocolate) into a large bowl, and make a well

3. Pour the wet ingredients into the well and mix thoroughly

4. Roughly chop or break chocolate into chunks and mix into the dough

5. Use a spoon to scoop out dough and then press into balls using your palms. Place on a non-stick baking tray, or a tray lined with baking parchment

6. Press down gently with thumbs or the back of a fork, pushing back any portions that crumble.

7. Bake for 10-12 minutes in a preheated oven at 180C until just browned on top

8. Cool on the tray for a few minutes until solid enough to move before transferring to a wire rack to fully cool

8. Serve with a glass of almond milk or devour straight out of the cookie jar!

Claudio's picture cookies close up

Leave a Reply

