Creamy Coconut Fish Curry

Paleo Creamy Coconut Fish Curry

Creamy Coconut Fish Curry

I was at the supermarket today stocking up on veggies for dinner when I spotted these delicious Gurnard fillets calling my name! I hadn’t had fish in a while and seeing as I’d just finished an awesome workout I figured I was allowed to splurge a little (better than buying junk right?!) and this is what I came up with for my lunch!

This is similar to the kind my Mum used to make, usually served on brown rice. If you eat rice then that is the perfect accompaniment to this dish to bulk it out a little for a dinner; but seeing as I am obsessed with Broccoli I found a small side of steamed Broccoli was enough for me for lunch.

Ingredients:

-150g Gurnard Fillets (or other white fish)

-200g Coconut Cream

-1 onion (or 1/3 to 3/4 if you’re not a fan!)

-1 teaspoon curry powder

-1/2 teaspoon cumin

-1/2 teaspoon tumeric

-1/2 teaspoon cinnamon

-(Optional) Small handful of sultanas

METHOD:

1. Slice onion finely and fry in a little oil on medium high

Paleo Creamy Coconut Fish Curry

Fry onions and spices

2. Once the onions have just started to brown, add the spices and fry

3. Once the onions are fully browned and the spices mixed through thoroughly add 200g (half a can) of coconut cream and mix

Paleo Creamy Coconut Fish Curry

Add fish and sultanas

4. Place the whole Gurnard fillet(s) in the middle, turn heat down to medium

5. (Optional) Add a small handful of sultanas for extra sweetness

6. Once the edges of the fish have started to whiten up, mix around and break the fish into chunks. It’s done once it’s white all the way through and flakes off easily

7. Serve, with brown rice or steamed veggies for a paleo version 🙂

 


K

Leave a Reply

