Be the best you

 

Every decision you make, from what you eat to what you do with your time tonight turns you into who you are tomorrow and the day after that

“We are what we repeatedly do” has got to be one of my favourite quotes of all time and from one of the great philosophers, Aristotle, nonetheless. This week I came across this fantastic quote from Chris Hadfield “Every decision you make, from what you eat to what you do with your time tonight turns you into who you are tomorrow and the day after that.” Chris Hadfield has been making waves on Social Media as the Commander of Expedition 35, on the International Space Station. Now I know so many kids who dreamed of becoming astronauts, and I wonder how many of them actually get there. Sure, decisions change over time for all sorts of reasons, but I notice among my peers and even in my own past, how many people live lives and work careers that don’t satisfy them and make them happy?

Excellence seems so far away; inaccessible; expensive. It gets relegated to the “too hard” basket and as a result we see so many people who are not excited to be living their lives. Don’t get me wrong, I’m not saying life should be all roses and sparkles ALL the time, but for the majority of time life should be enjoyable and feel worth living. If you’ve been reading my posts for a while you will probably have noticed that I’m big on the idea that happy people are healthy people and vice versa; and that happy, healthy people make the world a happier, healthier place. I’m also interested in the idea of disconnection between people and nature in the broad sense- the food that we eat; natural interactions with the environment; other species; and the rest of the society. I personally feel like a lot of people have lost touch with this, and I tend to believe a lot of it has to do with materialism; consumerism and a capitalist society which focusses on profit over individual health and wellbeing.

Take a few minutes today to visualise your ideal life, including:

-relationships

-career

-health

-hobbies

-finances

Everything that you want to achieve, you can. Break them down into small actions and you will see how when you start engaging in these behaviours regularly you will be so surprised with how quickly you develop, and how quickly other areas of your life improve.

I am constantly inspired by my man. S is a perpetual learner. He wants to learn everything there is to learn about topics that interest him and he goes out of his way to make it happen. He has been so dedicated to improving his health- and a key element of that has been to make a regular date with the gym, and keep it. In the same way, he keeps a regular date with himself and his e-books to learn more technical skills to develop his career. He even got me to make him flashcards so he can learn French on top of everything else. His progress is astounding, and it all comes down to making the commitment to himself to invest time in tomorrow’s version of himself.

My own journey of self development has had lots of challenges, like everyone else experiences, but it is a habit. My health is the key aspect of my life I have been focussing on and I have found the most effective way to do this is to continuously make that commitment to myself to make healthy choices; to take the stairs; to go to the gym daily; to find healthy alternatives for treats I crave. Health is a habit. Happiness is a habit. Excellence is a habit. These are all things which are within every person’s grasp. They are not inaccessible and they are not reserved for the few lucky ones who are born with a silver spoon in their mouth or a naturally genius-level IQ.

Life is too short to waste living a life we are not happy with. I wish everyone knew this. So today I’m making the commitment to myself to work on the me of tomorrow, and it is going to be a much happier, healthier me that’s for sure!

 

Please share and let’s help make the world a happier, more fulfilled place!

 


K

Leave a Reply

