Today I am grateful…

noun

[mass noun]

  • the quality of being thankful; readiness to show appreciation for and to return kindness:she expressed her gratitude to the committee for their support

-Oxford Dictionary

Part of my mission for living this green lifestyle is to be a positive influence on the world, not only in terms of being positive environmentally, but also towards other people and the rest of the living world as well as the spiritual one. I think one of the fundamental pillars of this is gratitude. When we express gratitude towards others, it helps contribute to a cycle of ongoing reciprocity and kindness, and makes people feel valued. This is one of the key things I have learned in relationships- especially if partners are speaking different love languages! Receiving gratitude makes us more willing to continue on those acts of kindness, and reminds us that we are valued and appreciated- something everyone needs every now and then no matter their apparent self-confidence. Not only does it help to be grateful towards other people, but I think being grateful for many not so tangible or easily defined things helps keep a sense of awe in the universe.

Today I am grateful that in all the billions and billions of years this universe has seen, somehow it came to be that on a tiny flying spec of dust, some spark of divine creation or some miracle of chance resulted in the tiniest life forms, that eventually flourished into all the vast expanse of life we see on the planet today.

Today I am grateful to be alive.

Today I am grateful my family are safe in Wellington.

Today I am grateful that (so far- fingers crossed!) there haven’t been such earthquakes in Auckland.

Today I am grateful for having a caring family who raised me well and continue to support me emotionally as well as financially.

Today I am grateful to have a job.

Today I am grateful that I have a body able to work.

Today I am grateful for having a loving partner who gives up his weekend sleep-in to take me to work.

Today I am grateful for sunshine.

Today I am grateful for the crisp, refreshing air.

Today I am grateful for the fresh foods that restore my health.

 

What are you grateful for?

Let me know in the comments and let’s spread the gratitude! 🙂

ॐ

K

One thought on “Today I am grateful…

  1. Pingback: Miracle Monday #2 | Diary of a Divorced Diva

Leave a Reply

